Veteran player, been out of the loop, seeking counsel

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey,

I started playing D&D (Basic, Expert, Companion and Master) and AD&D 1st Edition some 25 years ago and played 2nd Edition for a few years but am now looking to return to the game with some friends who are new to it.

So, it's 4th Edition is it... I was going to start with the basics: PHB, DMG and MM but the new structure of the books is bewildering...where would you guys suggest I start?

Like I say, I'd consider myself an advanced player, just new to 4th Edition.

Thanks!
The main thing I can recommend is a DDI sub.  You should get one for the group.

They are fairly cheap and give you access to this:

Compendium: Lets you see all material in all books via a search engine.
Character Builder: Has some errors, but is very pretty/user friendly
Monster Builder: Nice for making custom monsters if you DM. 
Currently working on making a Dex based defender. Check it out here
Show
Need a few pre-generated characters for a one-shot you are running? Want to get a baseline for what an effective build for a class you aren't familiar with? Check out the Pregen thread here If ever you are interested what it sounds like to be at my table check out my blog and podcast here Also, I've recently done an episode on "Refluffing". You can check that out here
First thing i recommend, forget everything from AD&D...go in with a blank mind on it.  In my experience, is the veterans of former editions the ones that struggle with 4th edition, while brand new players master at an surprising fast rate.

You must get rid of older editions paradigms and such... 
I concur with the above posts.

4th Edition has a new feel.

I find it very team orientated and group friendly.  But it is going to be different that what you've played before.
Keep an open mind.

If you have other questions let us know.
I'm intrigued...