Question Thread

So I'm pretty new to this and I'm just going to use this thread to post any questions I have on the playtest to prevent clutter.

A level 1 fighter/monk with a martial damage die, can use that every time he attacks to add to his damage or save it for a reaction?

Just to clarify casters recieve one spell on level up?

What is the cost of a wizard using the mage armour cantrip out of combat? The only thing i can see is rolling a check and rolling a 1 is the only risk.
Wizards do not start with armor, nor do they start with proficiency in it.

AFAIK, the only way to be proficient in armor as a wizard right now is to be a dwarf (forgot which kind). 
So the only way they get armour is to equip it, or use mage armour? What if they get attacked without mage armour active? Enemies auto hit as long as its not a 1?

All characters start with 10 AC, plus Dexterity, without armor.  Armor that a character puts on changes the base number from 10 to some other higher number (like 11 for Leather armor), and may modify how Dexterity applies. 

For example, here is a selection of armor, their base AC, and dexterity modifiers

• Unarmored (Default): 10 + Dex Mod (Source: Document "Creating a Character", page 3, "Determine Armor Class")

• Leather: 11 + Dex Mod (Source: Document "Equipment", page 3)

• Mage Armor: 12 + Dex Mod (Source: Document "Spells", page 20)

• Studded Leather: 13 + Dex Mod (max 2) (Source: Document "Equipment", page 3)

• Plate: 18 (no dex mod) (Source: Document "Equipment", page 3)

Also note that if you have a negative Dexterity modifier, it will lower your AC.  So, Leather armor mixed with a Dexterity score of 8 will yield 10 AC.

Hope that helps! =D

Edit: Put them in a bulleted list, calrify dex mod 

Thanks a bunch landale
In terms of weapons that wizards can use, what is stopping them from using a sheild and sword and still using magic?