Some Newbie questions

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi all!

Sorry for posting newbie questions - I'm new to D&D....well, after a 25-year break! Some things in 4th ed are still foxing me a bit and I wonder if you can help.

1. Do you get cover saves for magic spells?

2. When you add strength modifier to attacks, is it the Str mod + 1/2 level or just Str mod? Same with spells that are Int vs Ref or Wis vs Will - is it the characteristic modifier or modifier + 1/2 level?

3. A 2nd level rogue with a Short Sword with 18 Dex and 18 Cha can do 1d6 + 5 (Dex) + 5 (Cha) damage using Deft Flourish (assuming no combat superiority) but a 2nd level Fighter with a Great Axe with 18 Str does 1d12 + 5 (Str) via Reaping Strike or Cleave. It seems odd to me that a rogue could much better damage than a fighter as a standard attack. Am I getting something wrong?

Thanks in advance 
1.  No, you don't get saves for magic spells at all.  Spells are handled by the attack roll system in 4e.  The caster of a spell makes an attack roll, and this is compared to the target's defense.  The spell will tell you which defense you should check.  It's no different than making an attack against AC - 4e has unified the systems between weapon attacks and spells in this regard. 

You do get the benefit of cover against such attacks, however.  All attacks can be affected by cover, which causes a -2 penalty to the attack roll, -5 for superior cover.

Saving throws are a randomized duration mechanic in 4e.  They have absolutely no connection to saving throws of any kind in any previous edition.  They're the functional equivalent to prior edition things that had durations of "1d4 rounds" or similar.