Ok, I'm new to DMing, as in I-Just-Started-Last-Week. I got a group of people that dont really play table top games along with one person who has. I'm the DM because I'm the only one in the group who has played DnD. So far we are running a bit of a o

8 posts / 0 new
Last post

Ok, I'm new to DMing, as in I-Just-Started-Last-Week. I got a group of people that dont really play table top games along with one person who has. I'm the DM because I'm the only one in the group who has played DnD. So far we are running a bit of a off the wall campaign involving steam punk and PSI powers but not really running on the Psion races. Story is good, Plot is nice and rich, Characters are interesting, but combat is... ok.

Combat sticks out like a sore thumb in my sessions, it’s something that’s not dreaded, but it’s so bland that it's not really looked forward to. The first encounter they had was with a group of slaves who mistook them as enemies and that turned into a dice fight. The second fight was with a crazy illusionist who was killed after he attacked. The encounter after that was a giant monster made from corpses that sat on top of a furnace that was more interesting because he couldn’t be beat by attacking him, but it still was not as good as just walking around the tavern and picking up clues or finding treasure. and the latest encounter was with the main antagonists grunt Psychic soldiers which ended with the near death of one Player but it was still kinda... Ok...

I don’t just want to avoid combat, but at the same time, I want the players to want to have fun. I can't find anyone who has asked this same question in my searches through YouTube and Google.

So I have to ask, how do i make combat more fun?