Crowdsourcing my daughter's birthday present: B/U Zombies

59 posts / 0 new
Last post
My daughter's birthday is on January 26. She loves browsing Gatherer before going to school, and must have found something, because she's asked me to build her a B/U zombie deck. However, I only started playing more seriously when Magic 2013 came out and I'm not that familiar with the Innistrad block, except as I am catching up. Moreover, I am not at all familiar with whatever it was that rotated out before that, which made the B/U Zombie archetype go away. So I don't really know what the B/U Zombie deck consisted of and what is supposed to make it tick.

For now, this will just be a deck we will play at home, but I decided to post in the Standard forum instead of Casual, because I'm hoping with Dimir there will eventually be options to take this deck to FNM. For this reason, I'm keeping it Standard legal.

So here is the beginning:

Creature (26)

Other (10)
[deck]2 Ghoulcaller's Chant
4 Bone Splinters
4 Tragic Slip[/deck]

Land (24)
[deck]4x Drowned Catacomb
4x Watery Grave
14x Swamp
2x Island[/deck]

Here are some other cards available:

Endless Ranks of the Dead
Havengul Lich
Havengul Runebinder
Unbreathing Horde
Zombie Apocalypse

So where can we take this to its max potential given the current limitation of what is in Standard? Is there another archetype using Havengul Lich that would work better?
As of right now Watery Grave is not standard. 

As for the deck it looks pretty decent, RB is typically the stronger version but this can work too. I'd replace the drake with Rakdos Cackler

Probably want 4 Bump in the night

24 lands is a tad much, I'd run 22 or 23 at the most. Maybe take the extra land and the chants and replace with either Vile Rebirth Killing Wave Havengul Runebinder or preferably a comination of the 3.

As for the Lich decks see Heartless Summoning decks. He's normally used in pseudo-combo decks 

IMAGE(http://www.nodiatis.com/pub/5.jpg)