New to magic. Need deck help

38 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi all im new to magic. I got the deck builders toolkit (2013) and i made this deck:

[C]Arbor Elf[/C]X2
[C]Bond Beetle[/C]

[C]Abundant Growth[/C]

[C]Fog[/C]
[C]Prey Upon[/C]
[C]Hydrosurge[/C]
[C]Unsummon[/C]
[C]Elvish visionary[/C]X2
[C]Ambush Viper[/C]
[C]Farseek[/C]
[C]Titanic Growth[/C]
[C]Timberland Guide[/C]2
[C]Wandering Wolf[/C]
[C]Hamlet Captain[/C]
[C]Essence Scatter[/C]
[C]Negate[/C]
[C]Mind Sculpt[/C]X2
[C]Natural End[/C]
[C]Borderland Ranger[/C]X3
[C]Yeva's Forcemage[/C]X2
[C]Divination[/C]
[C]Briarpack Alpha[/C]
[C]Ranger's Path[/C]
[C]Mwonvuli Beast Tracker[/C]
[C]Acidic Slime[/C]X2
[C]Sentinel Spider[/C]

LAND
[C]Shimmering Grotto[/C]

[C]Evolving WildsX4[/C]
Forest=15
Island=5

i didn't feel like i got enough decent cards to make a good  deck but please post what to add, change or do to this deck.
The most obvious issue with this deck is that it lacks focus.  It's all over the place.  You have too many different cards that don't add up to much.

First and foremost, I would get rid of the blue in this deck.  Make it mono-green and add some higher power creatures.  Since you're new and probably a bit limited in choices, I'll stay away from rares, but some cards you can use are Slime Molding, Archweaver, Axebane Stag, Centaur Courser, Garruk's Packleader, and Primal Huntbeast.

Second, in a green deck, mana gain is crucial.  Keep the Arbor Elf and Borderland Ranger, and maybe add a few Gatecreeper Vines as well.  Mulch is also supposed to be good for land.

Third, run more removal cards.  Removal cards are cards designed to get rid of your opponent's threats.  In green, they're a bit hard to come by, but you can use more Prey Upons.  Plummet and Aerial Predation work well against fliers, and cards like Giant Growth or Titanic Growth can take out a big attacker or blocker, but Prey Upon is your best bet in green.

There are other things that can improve your deck, but start with what I told you.