Highly Disappointed!

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
So I have been playing D&D for something like 25 years now. The majority of the time I would DM 2e and a bit of 3e - 3.5e. Recently I talked my group into learning 4e. Big step for the group since we grew up on THAC0 vs AC!

Anyways, I was one of the only player to decided to embrace the age and use technology to run/play the game. Most of my group struggles with this idea and prefers the pen and paper we grew up on.

I started using a tool called Masterplan recently and fell in love with how it worked. That was a driving force for me to learn 4e and convince everyone to switch. (Since the application is designed around 4e)

I have had my eye on the D&D insider sub for awhile due to access to the tools. Today I broke down finally and signed up for a 3 month sub.

After looking at all the things DDI got me, all I can say is that I think I just wasted my money. The tools available are next to nothing. I was expecting at least some flashy tools to help with DMing and such, but I see I was highly mistaken on what is provided!

Unless I am missing something, I sure wish this wasn't the case. My money seems like it could have been spent better buying a new book. That would have been a better choice then 3 months of nothing.

What a let down!

Couldn't disagree more. In fact, I'd feel like I wasted my money if I ever bought a book. 

The Character Builder has its flaws, but overall it's by far the easiest way to build a 4th Edition character. I'd take it any day over the hassle of writing out my powers, feats and such, and calculating my HP, defenses and attack & damage bonuses. 

The Compendium is an incredibly useful tool for both DMs and players. DMs can look up monsters and even sort them by role and source. Players can look up virtually everything else in there. And both can use it to look up a quick rule, ritual or what have you during a game. Certainly beats flipping through 3 different books looking for the answer.