Help with Cleric.

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
First of all , sorry about the bad english , im from Brazil and im not good with your language.

My group gona star play D&D 4.0 , we all fresh with d20 system , we come from Werewolf and Vampire .
We gona use only:  Dungeon Master Guide , Player's Handbook , Player's Handbook 2 , Monsters Manual and Adventurer's Vault.

My question is: how be a good cleric , with good suport and some "fire power" for do damage while im not needed healing.

I dont want a full guide with pictures , just some counties and tips about how to be a good cleric and be useful.

I hope you guys can read this hahaha.

Tyvm and happy new year!

IMAGE(http://www.nodiatis.com/pub/21.jpg)

Here is the Cleric Handbook, which has a lot of useful information:  community.wizards.com/go/thread/view/758...

And in 4e, Leaders (like the cleric) are not forced into just a "healer role".  They have choices on how to lead effectively.  Clerics work by buffing allies somewhat, debuffing enemies somewhat, granting tons of saving throws, and healing.

They are very weak in terms of repositioning allies, and enabling extra attacks.

Bargle wrote:
This is CharOp. We not only assume block-of-tofu monsters, but also block-of-tofu DMs.

Zelink wrote:
You're already refluffing, why not refluff to something that doesn't suck?
In dragon magazine 400 they introduced the option of battle clerics lore in place of healers lore.  This was to fix some major problems with how the class worked.  It gives you scale proficiency, a +2 shield bonus to AC, and instead of healing your wisdom modifier, you add +2 bonus to hit until the end of your next turn when you target someone with a surge spending healing power.  Even if you only use those materials adding this will make it a lot easier to play a cleric since otherwise you will be spread very thin on stats and feats just to keep up.