Where to get bases?

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
So I'm new to D&D, but I've got a crap-ton of other minis from other games that are usable. Problem is, most of the games I play outside of D&D are 1.5 inch bases. (Mage Knight, I'm looking at you!)

I "shaved" a few Axis/Allies infantrymen off of their bases, seeing as the local shop had them for 25 cents apiece, but they only had four and I'm hoping to get something that looks neater and cleaner. Preferably circular, if possible.

Does anyone have any info? I looked into warhammer, but I can't really find any way to just get bases without paying oodles for a whole set. Considering how expensive that game is, I'm opposed to shelling out $80 for two dozen bases.
This is what I do for converting, I buy 1inch, 2 inch and 3 inch Wooden circles from my local hobby store. Paint 'em black then stick a tiny amount of super glue to the Mini's feet to the base.
My Commander Decks Zur The En-hancer Omnomnom
This is what I do for converting, I buy 1inch, 2 inch and 3 inch Wooden circles from my local hobby store. Paint 'em black then stick a tiny amount of super glue to the Mini's feet to the base.

Ouch, Wood. I'm more of a plastic guy, but I'll keep this one in my back pocket if I'm ever jonesing for a base.
Maybe pick up a cheap plastic checkers set? Half the pieces are black, the other half can be painted. It won't be pretty, but it'll be plastic and relatively cheap.
Gunmage, a homebrew arcane striker. (Heroic Tier playtest ready.) GDocs link. (More up to date.)

If anybody's charging more than a dollar per base, they're out of their freakin mind...

(There's a reason Games Workshop is often called The Evil Empire)

Almost all of the major miniatures companies sell a variety of bases in all kinds of sizes. A lot of the secondary-market plastic mini retailers like Auggie's or CoolMiniOrNot also sell bases.

Reaper Miniatures has 12 30mm round bases for $4.99...

You can probably find them even cheaper.

Show