New and I Need Help With My Build

18 posts / 0 new
Last post

Hey there! So here is the deal. I have never actually played D&D before, but a few friends of mine (none of them have played more than once or twice) and I have decided to pick it up. So as of the past two weeks or so I have been working on building my character. Now I have a background in liking thing where in you try to optimize what you are working on to the best of what it can be, but like I said I am new to D&D, so I was wondering if there aren't any harden veterans out there who would be willing to look at a build I am working on.

The classes I have been working on a lot have been a Shielding Swordmage, a Ranger (TS), an Avenger, and then lastly a hybrid Avenger/Ranger (TS). The one I am looking at most at this point is the hybrid. As I was working on the pure forms of it I notices a potential to be able to optimize the ranger's Twin Strike (TS) with many of the Avenger's abilities (ie Oath of Enmity with some later bonus appearing). What I am thinking get a very strong EVEN dpr. To do this I am focusing in on that wonderful TS and Hunter's Quarry. So here is what I want to have do down within the next few levels.

Here are the steps:

1) Get the feat to let myself use spiked chains and have it count as a weapon in each hand each with each doing 2d4 (Did this already as my level 1 feat)

2) Next I go in and get the Avenging Resolution feat which makes any damage die that rolled by me for a weapon attack against my Oath target that are 1 or 2 act as a 3. So that means at level two with twin strike (If I hit, and remember I get 2 rolls) I am doing at least a guaranteed 15 damage. [2d4 with each die being at least 3 so 6 from each weapon totaling in 12 plus my Hunter's Quarry (HQ) of at least 3 for grand total of 15 <6+6+3=15> on top of that I have a few minor actions that could replace HQ that are encounters which do a bit more and have fun side effects.