4th Ed.Character Creation Help Needed

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi everyone! I am COMPLETELY new to this style of Role-Playing gaming and new to DnD. I played my very fist game with a computer random character. I am still very lost but was told to just focus on my character build first and then learn from there. I would like to make a character very similar to a Jean Grey (Phoenix). Yes, I want a character that can move things and enemies around with the mind and a bit of mind control as well. What advice do you suggest in my venture to create my character? Like I said, I am brand new to the game. I just started today and played my first game today.

Thank you,
Barby

*Barby *

Player's Handbook 3 has the Psion class, which does pretty much all of that. Its powers focus heavily on sliding enemies and and giving them penalties to their attacks and defenses. (There's even a Firestarter Paragon Path, if I recall right, if you want to get in on the burny action.)

I'd suggest going with a Human Psion, since the extra at-will and feat will help you with the versatility. Choose either Telekinesis or Telepathy for your Discipline Focus feature, depending on what you want to specialize in. Note that you can still use telekinetic powers and psychic powers regardless of build.

If you want to keep your options open, make your intelligence 18 (16 + racial bonus) and make both Wisdom and Charisma 14 or so, while putting some spare points in Constitution for the sake of not dying.
Gunmage, a homebrew arcane striker. (Heroic Tier playtest ready.) GDocs link. (More up to date.)
Player's Handbook 3 has the Psion class, which does pretty much all of that. Its powers focus heavily on sliding enemies and and giving them penalties to their attacks and defenses. (There's even a Firestarter Paragon Path, if I recall right, if you want to get in on the burny action.)