A new member's introduction, and a new mechanic.

20 posts / 0 new
Last post
Wow... you guys really need a "Welcome to the forums!" area, where new guys can introduce themselves...

Guess this'll have to do.

I'm Haru Takami, or Harkel, either way. I started playing Magic several years ago, but never really got in to the game in all truth. Around two months ago I started actually playing, setting my first real experience with card games (Yu-Gi-Oh!) aside due to horrible format of overpowered, overpriced cards ruling the game. But I'm getting sidetracked.

I started the game, litterally, with a mostly colorless deck. Artifacts, plain and simple. It ran a few choice white and/or blue cards to support them, mostly White lifegain with a little Blue artifact boost (A Grand Architect or two, a few draw cards, and some counter spells). Recently however I've tested many other colors. White is fine by me, Black I can not run for the life of me (outside Golgari builds, I think the green counterbalances it...) red is very strong with me, and blue has issues. But I realized that there was one set of cards that always ran with me, no matter what color I was running.

Artifacts.

I am an Artificer.

And so I noticed; why are there so few cards that actually support artifacts as a whole? Yes, Affinity (Mycosynth Golem in particular) does help, and the Mirrodin blocks (of which I greatly await our return to) did have some decent support in the Metalcraft mechanic, I felt that they need something a little... more.

And so here we are. 

I give you the culmination of a month's on-and-off toils. (I think I may be an Izzet... so scatterbrained...)

"Component"