Best AC class to begin?

19 posts / 0 new
Last post
What is the best class to use to have the highest ac I can get from 1st level to 20th level. I heard monk is good but how to distribute ability points and still be able to do damage? also i tried paladin with best armor and only got to 26 ac. I read that wizards can reach the highest ac with spells i guess but im not experienced enough to be a wizard.

Why do you want the best AC?

What does having a high AC give you - what are you trying to achieve with it?

Show

I am the Magic Man.

(Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain.)

I am the Lawnmower Man.

(I AM GOD HERE!)

I am the Skull God.

(Koo Koo Ka Choo)

There are reasons they call me Mad...

the best non-infinate AC I have seen was made like this http://community.wizards.com//go/thread/view/75882/19865126/Got_bored..._which_resulted_in_a_new_AC_record . Miss chance that gives you better than 1/20 odds of being hit is still better than any AC.

What is your goal for this thread? Having a high AC just for the sake of it? Use Ottos build. 

"In a way, you are worse than Krusk"                               " As usual, Krusk comments with assuredness, but lacks the clarity and awareness of what he's talking about"

"Can't say enough how much I agree with Krusk"        "Wow, thank you very much"

"Your advice is the worst"

Paladin is the only class that can start in plate. Does that answer your question ?

I can recommend you go to the charop forum and read some handbooks.

Paladin level 20 in a common magic +5 (lvl 21) plate armor should have something like 37 AC, without even taking any sort of defensive feats.

Any light armor / cloth class like monks, avengers can only achieve high AC by boosting Dex, and taking some feats. 

Paladin is the only class that can start in plate. Does that answer your question ?

No, it really doesn't, since plate/shield isn't the only way to get to max AC at level 1.