Aranyani's Avenger (green defence against deathtouch)

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi. Pretty much a clueless newbie here :-) Just started playing Magic a week ago but loving it so much I already want to make my own cards, not for playing with, just for fun. My girlfriend often plays swamp and she's a pain with deathtouch creatures, and I play green so I thought I'd create a green defence against deathtouch. Comments on usefulness / weakness / mana cost etc are welcome :-)

Hi. Pretty much a clueless newbie here :-) Just started playing Magic a week ago but loving it so much I already want to make my own cards, not for playing with, just for fun. My girlfriend often plays swamp and she's a pain with deathtouch creatures, and I play green so I thought I'd create a green defence against deathtouch. Comments on usefulness / weakness / mana cost etc are welcome :-)

The mana cost is way more restrictive than it needs to be. This could easily cost 2G. Your creature is very narrow, isn't an Ally, and what's more it doesn't even work as written.

And I don't get the flavour. 
Hello there! ^.^ There's no reason for four green mana symbols, and that ability sounds mono-white because green can't destroy anything.. Also, it's possible to punish creatures with deathtouch in more subtle ways so that it's not totally useless against other creatures with other abilities..

Aranyani's Avenger -
Creature - Elf Archer
Reach
, : Destroy target blocking creature if it dealt lethal damage this turn.
1/4

The mana cost is way more restrictive than it needs to be. This could easily cost 2G. Your creature is very narrow, isn't an Ally, and what's more it doesn't even work as written.

And I don't get the flavour. 

Sorry; I didn't read the fact that you were new.In that case... Nice creature, bro!
What Cats said.

Also, Aranyani is a pleasure to say with your mouth. I tend to like alliterations in general, though as a little boy I found them dastardly, distasteful, and disturbing.