First time DM'ing

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
So as the title says, its my first time DM'ing and I want to give my players ( all of whom have never played D&D before  ) a good adventure to make them thirst for more

I may have to add that  I started playing like half a year ago  and thus am not that experienced ( as well as I played 3.5 ed  the first couple of months )

I kinda have a small plan  but I am unsure of how it will go, considering that they have yet to figure out their characters as well.

any help would be appreciated ( currently reading the dungeon master guidebooks and getting some assistance from my 4th ed DM )

Especially for a first adventure like this, sit down with all of the players and ask them what kinds of things they'd like to do. Have players flesh out characters at the table, and have them link the characters together. If someone says "My character spent time in an orcish prison" another player can say "That's how our characters met!"

Especially in these early games, having that kind of collaboration also develops a huge amount of buy-in from the players and it eases the workload and responsibility off of the DM. It's also a great time to set ground rules for the game so everyone has the same expectations.

Good luck, it's an exciting time
My current DM  has referred me to the book " The Slaying Stone"  and  I must say it does look kinda temptive.

also towards the collaboration, its just a pity that my players seem kinda, uncommunicative,  also doesnt help that some of them are americans while the rest are europeans  so you've got a different timezone ( online games for the win )

also, Tabletop Forge = Brilliant  for online games.

Regardless,  Much appreciative of your input  merb101