DM "Flowchart"

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
As I am new to DM-hood, I am always worried that I'm going to forget a step during and between each of the players' turns. How do you guys keep track of all the steps and information?
I'd like to offer insight, but I'm not quite sure what you mean by "steps". Like, condition tickers and immediate action usage?
Yes. I was essentially looking for things like who needs to do a save, moving all your monsters, and the ilk, and I realize that for a lot of things you just have to rely on the players. I've never run a game for a group bigger than two, and it was a bit overwhelming even then. I play in a local hobby shops weekly Pathfinder game and I make a point to study how the DM handles situations, but it seems like a lot to keep track of.
It can be a lot to keep track of at first. It's one of those unavoidable aspects to many tabletop games. It becomes easier with practice, but it's not something you have to go at alone either. Some DMs put one of the players in charge of noting down conditions and the like for them so they can worry about other things. Then they can check that as needed for a quick reminded You could try that so as to lessen your work load until you're at a place where you're comfortable enough to try and add more to your own plate. It's also helpful to not try and keep it all in your head if you can help it. A spiral notebook and a pencil suffice for tracking, and it's easier with something like a laptop computer. People with smart phones could probably find a condition tracker app of some kind too. It's mostly about how you go about doing the work that really makes it less or more in the long run.

Hope this helps. Happy Gaming
Thanks for the help! I always feel like I should take care of all the number-crunching, and it probably would help to do some delegating.