Artificer Help (3.5)

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
hey, I'm looking for some help for my artificer, I have been pretty good at finding what I need to get the most out of this class but I've found sites that contradict each other and my DM's books. I'll try to ask everything at once, sorry for being so helpless, I'm new to D&D.

1) Question about Scrolls:

-Ok, so I am a level 2 artificer, I made a couple Cure Moderate Wounds scrolls & Ray of Scorching scrolls (lvl.2 spells)... can I use them? I've read somewhere that you can only use scrolls of a level half of your level but the books (3.5 players handbook and DM Guide book) do not specify that I can find anyway. What is the max spell level scroll I can use at the following levels: 2nd, 4th, 5th, 6th.

2) Question about Potions/Oils:

-Do potions have a similar problem like scrolls? Any level restrictions on creating and/or using potions?

-I know that the limits on potions and oils are they cannot have a range of personal and they must be used (meaning no potion of fireball kind of BS) but are there any others?

-I also have contradictory costs on making potions, the book says that the calculation is 12.5gp x caster level x spell level but then the table right under it shows different costs for different kinds of spells. Can someone tell me what the costs are for making potions at any given level? Also if I make a Cure Light Wounds potion at level 2 (it is a level 1 spell) is there an advantage to being a higher level when making it?

Finally I know at level 3 I get to Craft Wonderous Items, do I have to put a rank or more in Craft (Wonderous Item) to be able to make items? Also if I don't what would my bonus be on DC checks? (my INT mod. is 4, and I have 4 extra from bonuses on all crafts)

Thanks in advance for your help.