Age group for magic?

28 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi everyone,

I used to play a lot of magic in highschool and in university about 7 or 8 years back, and I basically got out of the game before the Masques block came out.

I started playing Duels of the Planeswalkers 2013, and I'm really enjoying it, and it made me feel like playing again. In duels, the decks are rather prohibitive and one of the things I liked about magic was just creating a ton of decks.

I was curious - who plays magic these days? Do people in their late twenties still play? Is it common? Seeing that the prices of the cards in standard hasn't really changed all that much - or maybe they got more expensive - I gotta think this isn't a hobby for 12 year olds. But you never know. Is the community pretty diverse, or if I were to show up to a magic tournament, would I look really strange in a group of 12 year olds? LOL.

If this question offends people, sorry in advance. Gotta love the Internet.
My regular shop has 10 year olds and 50 year olds show up for FNM almost every week.  For the big events (i.e. Prereleases), some of the parents bring their really little kids (like 6-7 year olds) to play, and a few older players show up.

The other shop in town has tournaments run by a guy who's probably 60+.

I have yet to see any one who looks out of place just because they're older/younger.  I'd say the average age of the typical player is probably low to mid 20s.
I'd say average at FNM type events (At least in my area) is high school to 30ish, but there's always a handful of people older than that and they don't really seem out of place.
Immature College Student (Also a Rules Advisor)
If you're old enough to read and young enough to not be dead, you can play magic.  I've met some super old people at FNMs.

Why does everyone think I'm phantom lancer? QFT:

Show
139359831 wrote: