Bounded Accuracy is the ultimate DEAL-BREAKER

Not surprisingly, this new extremist philosophy known as "bounded accuracy" is proving to be a total deal-breaker for literally every veteran player and DM that I know. It is an absolute nightmare. The reality is that if bounded accuracy is in D&D Next, then I don't know a single person who is interested in playing it.

I've been playing D&D and similar games for well over two decades, and I've never seen anything that has angered people this much. A tremendous feeling of betrayal is evident at our gaming tables these days, and it is literally all because of this short-sighted and ham-fisted system of "bounded accuracy" that the designers have decided to force on us.

Here's a tip: if you want the game to be successful, then it is an unbelievably bad idea to introduce some extremely controversial new system that angers people right off the bat. How is that not ridiculously obvious?

For the record, I DO NOT CARE what the designers have said that bounded accuracy is supposedly meant to accomplish. Vague statements like "we make no assumptions on the DM's side of the table…" mean absolutely nothing. All that matters is what bounded accuracy actually accomplishes within the game, including the undeniable game-changing consequences on the player's side of the table that are leaving people very frustrated and very angry. I will highlight some of these consequences below.

--------------

The main practical effect of bounded accuracy is that it clumsily attempts to cram both accuracy and damage into primarily just damage. This is done by reducing characters' attack bonus increases gained as a result of leveling-up to an extremely slow rate, as shown by the progressions presented in the playtest. The idea is that it is supposed to make those increases "feel" more important as they relate to enemy AC's, but it instead does a fantastic job of creating the exact opposite effect.