12/20/2012 Feature: "Examining the Beta Redesign"

36 posts / 0 new
Last post
This thread is for discussion of the feature article "Examining the Beta Redesign", which goes live Thursday morning on magicthegathering.com.
I'm new to Magic Online, so I can't comment on the differences that much, but the first thing I noticed after I'd installed it, being very vulnarable to RSI, that there are almost no keyboard shortcuts. It's all clicking and dragging.

Except for the Function keys when playing, to skip over some of the phases, there's not much there (or at least I couldn't find any on the web, if there are, please let me know!). I'd like to navigate through my cards and selecting them for my deck using just my keyboard, that would make life so much easier. 

I really changed my computer habits after I realised using my mouse all the time was giving me serious pain in my arm, hand and neck. I found out that, although it takes some getting used to, using your keyboard is actually a lot faster in most applications (at work I mostly use Excel). I understand that the interface should be understandable for new players because there's a lot going on, but using keyboard shortcuts doesn't take that away at all, it just sits on top of everything.

I'm sure a lot of users (even the ones that don't care using a mouse from a health-perspective) would like to invest some time in learning keyboard combinations to be faster at navigating / deckbuilding and playing.

And while I'm at it, it would be best if you could customize it yourself =) I understand there are still no plans for a Mac version so I finally committed to installing Windows on my Mac, but the Mac can only use the Function keys in combination with another key (Fn). What's wrong with using "Enter" or your "Space Bar" to skip through phase and action alerts? Selecting the answer yes or no with your arrow keys? Why F2? I feel like I'm back to the 80's using Function keys to navigate through my MSDOS programs...