Tips for making Monsters?

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Okay, so I'm new to the D&D scene (It's just me and some friends, and they claim I have the most knowledge of this kinda stuff, so pushing me to DM, also their lazy)
and I was wondering how to make monsters?
I.E Necromancers and chieftans for bosses mainly, I have the dungeon monster guide but, it doesn;t really show how to make monsters, and the tools here doesn't really explain what is what.
and I had like.. 4 people made for bosses, than was told never use the  character creator in 4E so i deleted those.

so any tips for a noob? thank you.
Several ways:

Take an existing monster and use that, as is.

Take an existing monster and "reskin" it, changing the appearance of it and its powers to fit what you're after.

Take an existing monster and modify it, adding or removing existing powers or anything else from other monsters, as well as reskinning it. This requires some knowledge of how monsters work, but it's not an exact science.

Make a monster out of a basic role (HP and defenses, basically) and adding in existing powers and traits to the blank slate.

Make up entirely new powers and traits and make a monster out of them.

No, don't use player characters as creatures. But you can make monsters that work much like player characters, in a monster mode. The DMG goes into that.

This can be hard to get "right." Even if you know what you're doing. Be prepared to have your encounters be either much harder or much easier than you expect. Much easier is embarrassing, but much harder can be a major frustration, if no one is expecting it. There's advice on this forum for how to run combat that is challenging but non-lethal, which cushions the game against combat math errors.

Good luck.

If I have to ask the GM for it, then I don't want it.

Here is what I do for a lot of my monsters:

Make an encounter with some sort of vague idea of what you want:

2x Lv+0 Soldiers
3x Lv+1 Brute
2x Lv+0 Artillery