Newbie Help

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey everyone, I'm new to tabletop RPG's and don't know where to start here. I've played card games like Pokemon before, and seen others play, but never actually played myself. It seems like fun to play, but I'm really overwhelmed. I saw a video for D&D Encounters, which seems like what I want to do, but I have a few questions. (btw, I'm a youth) 
1. Since Christmas is coming up, and my parents won't let me buy anything until afterwards, is it possible for me to go to play Encounters next Wednesday and not need to buy anything? (I have 20 sided dice, if that helps at all :P) 
2.  If I did go to play, is it ok if I don't know all of the rules, and may need some help get going? 
3. If I do get the Red Box set, would I have to go and buy some other books seperately? 
Website-Related question:
4. On this website, on the "Daily D&D" what is all of that? Is it some story?  
Thanks for reading. Any help is appreciated.  
1. You will probably have to have a character sorted out beforehand, I don't know. It sounds like you have somewhere sorted out though, so you could probably phone ahead and check and get things sorted. Other than that a set of dice would be good, but a D20 is definitely the most important thing to have.

2. As long as you mention that beforehand, and do your best to pick things up, everything should be good (if people aren't willing to welcome people into the hobby, they are acting rather stupidly). Basically, describe everything you want to do, roll D20s to attack and to use skills (normally when prompted), and the other dice are normally for damage.

3. HAVE to? No. But the red box is the very very basics of the game, and an introduction. To play the full game, and to get more options, you'll likely want to start buying more books - I'm not the best person to comment on the Essentials line, as I tend to play pre-essentials 4th edition, but here's a bit of an idea of what to go for: