Clarification for Newbie

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
Let me start off my saying that I am new to the D&D tabletop RPG.  I've played many a PC (MMO)RPG games but decided I would like to actually learn and play the roots of these games.

With that said, I have spent several weeks trying to consume, translate and organize ALL of the information possible on D&D from a multitude of sources.  To this day I still feel like I continue to roll a  "1" on the 1d20 with no modifiers when trying to understand it all!!

Here are the items I do not fully understand.
Let me preface this with stating that we have the new Redbox 4e Essentials the kids and I started playing last night.

1) Do we need buy "Adventure Kits" of we want to continue playing with adventures, maps and new tokens?
1a.) If I don't have time to make my own adventures are DM and Monster guides needed?
2) In regards to PHB, do we need every version of that book when they come available?
3) Can we use ANY D&D book to play?
4) Do all books come with maps?
5) What are the different TYPES of books? (e.g. adventure, maps, monsters, guides ...) and what are they used for?
6) How do PC buy weapons and armor?
7) What do PC do with the gold and jewels they win?
8) Since we are using the 4e Starter Kit, should we only buy products labeled with "Essentials"?
9) Since I DM for the family, what kind of rewards can I give the PCs besides their XP?

I know that is a lot of questions that I am positive is answered in many places but would appreciate someone clarifying the details.

In short - I think the BIGGEST struggle is I have no clue on how stuff is organized (especially the books!!!!  See #5 above).  Thanks to all in advance!!!

1) Do we need buy "Adventure Kits" of we want to continue playing with adventures, maps and new tokens?