Tomb of Horrors: 5E

Hi all,
I've been posting in the D&DN forums for awhile, but I'd like to make a slightly more formal introduction before getting into the meat of this post. I'm a student at a residential high school with several years of DMing experience, and my group's been playing a D&DN campaign since [month] of this year. One thing I've always wanted to do is run the adventure Tomb of Horrors, and with the active RPG community at my school this seems like a great opportunity. I'm planning to run the adventure around Febuary, so that'll give me plenty of time to prepare - get familiar with the module, convert to the new system, and make any changes necessary.
D&D Next seems like it'd be the best version of D&D to run Tomb of Horrors with since 1E/2E. While the rules generally curve toward the 3E/4E "formal" style of play, which as we see in the 3E conversion of the adventure basically turns it into a bunch of skill checks, there seems to be a lot of room for player ingenuity over character ingenuity, and rules-light play in general. I actually like the 3E approach much of the time, but Tomb of Horrors seems more appropriate for the 1E approach.

Players, on the off chance any of you stumble across this thread, now would be a great time to stop reading. You know who you are.

Alright, good.
So the first thing that comes to mind is simply what kinds of characters to allow - what level? What kinds of magic items should be allowed? What classes and subclasses (Illusion tradition, Sharpshooter fighting style, etc.) are relevant? Rolled stats or point-buy?
I'm gravitating towards a party of 5-8 level 10 characters made up of the four core classes. To keep a 1E feel, backgrounds and specialities won't be used, which translates to the absence of both skills and feats. To me, this makes sense. Most conflicts will be resolved through a combination of description ("I slide the knob - does the door open?") and ability rolls.