Modern Masters

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Modern is easily my favorite constructed format that Magic has to offer.  Although typical niche decks will appear over and over,  the decklists at the tournaments I go to tend to be wide ranged and varied.  My friends and I started playing the game right around when Darksteel came out, so for the most part, we have most of the power rares.  I remember when Tarmogoyf was in the 5 dollar or less box.  I'm not going to say I was that guy that saw its potential when it was only pocket change, but I did manage to purchase mine on a 16 year old's summer job wage.  Fast forward 7 years later,  I'm still playing Magic and this new format "Modern" has come out.  Low and behold I own pretty much all the cards I would ever need to make an awesome Modern deck and of course the coveted Tarmogoyf's and Dark Confidants.  I throw together a semblence of what the current Jund deck looks like and playtest for the next tournament I could find.  Play testing consisted of me playing solitaire at my dining room table.  Nobody had the tools to build a modern deck that would stand up against all of the "Power-rares" that were floating around.  I tried to persuade my friends by explaining to them that not every deck is going to be loaded with cards the price of a small compact car.  They weren't having it.  The inability to play with my playtest group almost shut down modern for me entirely.  Although Modern Masters will add more of the cards that people "ooh and ahh" at when I sit down to play a game thus raising availability and ultimately lowering their value,  this movement will raise the value of modern as a whole making it a far more playable format.  More people will start playing, therefore more people will be looking to trade for modern cards and trade away modern cards, the tournaments will have more contestants thus larger prize pools and magic will flourish.  Not to mention Tarmogoyf will have new art so people will still get their nost