Relative D&D Newcomer, need some help with background. Help?

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm a relative new comer to D&D and I'm involved with a group of friends that I've known for the better half of my life (3 of them anyway) that are very experienced D&D players. I've been involved in the game for over a year now, and the campaign has been going on for just over 3 years now.

After watching a few sessions of their campaign, and finally getting into the fantasy genre in terms of books, video games, and movies, I decided now would be a great time to get into D&D. We are playing Eberron with a heavy emphasis on Xoriat. Our DM just recently ran the “Seekers of the Ashen Crown” module for us, and the ending battle with Lady Demise was very climatic. One of our group even fell in love with professor Gyd, but seems to have a problem telling her.

Now to the main point of this post:

As I'm a newbie, I didn't know anything about Eberron, and only had the slightest idea of how to play D&D (since then I've obviously become familiar with all the rules). As such, I decided to choose what was in my opinion a “fool proof” idea for a character background. I ended up choosing a Human (easiest to role play for a first timer) Rogue that has amnesia, which seems to fit beautifully into our campaign since we're dealing with the plane of Xoriat. Recently my DM came up to my house and we talked about the game for a while and he asked that I try to come up with some sort of back story and why my character developed amnesia.