Feedback From a DM of 25 Years from Basic All the Way Up to D&D Next

Evening

I have been playing for 25 years, 95% of that time DMing D&D from Basic to Expert to 1st edition all the way up to 4th edition and now D&D Next.

My gaming group has played 4e for roughly the past two years.  There is a lot to like but it too suffers, at higher levels, from some of the same problems that 3.5 did - the combat breaks down, takes way too long, gets too rulesy and cumbersome and character combinations can become too cheaty and overpowered.  At least once every couple sessions someone comments about a 4e rule "and I thought 4e was supposed to be simpler!"  My general point in telling you this is that as a DM I sincerely hope that any new edition stays fun and simple as characters level up and doesn't allow for broken combinations and classes that are overpowered. 

We began the playtest and have been playing it.  Feedback:   

The Good:
We had that nostalgic "old school D&D feeling." 
It seemed to try and simplify some aspects such as everything being stat based and only one defensive stat, AC.
I like the "You get a move and action" and that's it, speeds up combat.  Unless I missed it though, PCs should be limited to just one "free" action per turn.
The Advantage and Disadvantage system seems very cool!

The Bad:
Fighter is broken with the feat everyone complains about.  Within a day my Rogue said "I should just be a fighter!"
Healing rule, as written (refocus) can easily be cheated out.  After every fight I just keep using it to heal to full.
Allowing Wizards unlimited Detect Magic feels broken too.  Think of all the modules that this spell will ruin.
Keep it simple!  For example, a Nat 20 gives max damage.  However, you need PC levels to add more rolled damage.  Why not just let everyone get +2d6 damage including mobs?  Keep It Simple!