Niv-Mizzet, Flashbacks, and burning vengeance

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi all, I'm new to MTG, but I wanted some opinions on a deck idea I had. I got the Izzet/Golgaria deck, and seeing Niv-Mizzet and a friend's Flashback deck gave me this idea.
I did some reading on decks and looked at cards and how the whole game works. I haven't played much, but hopefully I'll learn as I go.

Artifacts(1)
1 Catalyst Stone

Creatures (10)
1 Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind
1 Niv-Mizzet, Dracogenius
1 Sphinx of Magosi
4 Goblin Electromancer
3 Guttersnipe

Enchantments(6)
3 Burning Vengeance
2 Secrets of the Dead
1 Curiosity

Instants(19)
4 Think Twice
2 Geistflame
2 Izzet Charm
1 Thoughtflare
2 Dissipate
2 Mana Leak
1 Into the Roil

Sorcery(5)
2 Faithless Looting
2 Firebolt
1 Invoke the Firemind

Land(24)
9 Island
9 Mountain
1 Lonely Sandbar
1 Reliquary Tower
2 Izzet Boilerworks
2 Izzet Guildgate

Now I disliked the Replicate Izzet system because I would draw into a replicate spell that sure, I could use early, but it wouldn't be very efficient, and I would end up wasting its potential. I might just be playing them wrong, but I think they're a little tough on someone just starting out. Flashbacks make sense to me. I can use them now, or discard them and use them for later. Basically, I want to throw down some Goblins, counterspell/bounce any big threatening things, and then in the later game get Niv Mizzet and some enchantments out and start flashbacking for card advantage and damage together. Sound like a plan? Bad idea? Any card suggestions? Stuff I should take out? Any advice for understanding economics, card worth, card advantage, or tempo? Strategies I should try out? 
Thanks!

IMAGE(http://www.nodiatis.com/pub/19.jpg)

Guttersnipe with flashback works really well because you are going to do damage, then when you recast the spell from the graveyard, hes going to fire off damage again, I really like him in my Izzet deck
You are Red/Blue!
You are Red/Blue!