How to make a Necromancer?

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello, I'm new to dungeons and dragons (playing officially anyway) and I am going to start playing D&D encounters at my local hobby shop.  I set my heart on playing a Necromancer and i'm looking for advice on how to actually make one since necromancer isnt an official class but a branch from the wizard or something.  Heres basically what I want from my necromancer:

-ability to raise and control the dead
-debuffs to cast on enemies
-necromantic damaging spells (dont really know all spells that deal necrotic)
-just basically a simple classic necromancer who specializes in undead raising/control and other necromancer spells lol

I ordered the rulebook and i'm waiting for it to come in so I just want some basic advice before I start reading it.  What other books should I get that will have information on creating a necromancer class?

any advice is appreciated =) 
I don't think this goes here, but I'll try to answer it anyway.
Necromancy is indeed a branch of the Wizard (Mage). I don't know THAT much about it, but they do seem to be able to utilize a lot of debuffs and whatnot.
Lots of personality test results
Show
I am Blue/Green
I am Blue/Green
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.
I am both rational and instinctive. I value self-knowledge and understanding of the world; my ultimate goal is self-improvement and improvement of the world around me. At best, I am focused and methodical; at worst, I am obsessive and amoral.

IMAGE(http://www.nodiatis.com/pub/6.jpg)

D&D Home Page - What Class Are You? - Build A Character - D&D Compendium

D&D Home Page - What Monster Are You? - D&D Compendium