New to D&D, what is it all about?

28 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm new to tabletop RPGs, and I'm seriously thinking about starting.  My other hobby, miniature wargaming, is getting far too expensive for my liking (try running three games, two made by Games Workshop!).

D&D look really good.  I've heard so much about the game.  But I want to get a few things clear first:

1 - Do I need miniatures and stuff to play the game?  Can I play the game orally? 
2 - If I do need miniatures, can I easily use non-WOTC miniatures for the game?
3 - How complex is the game in comparison to Warhammer 40k?
4 - Are there any substitutes for the d20s and stuff?
5 - Are the AD&D reprinted rules better?

Thanks.

EDIT:
6 - What should I buy? 
I'm new to tabletop RPGs, and I'm seriously thinking about starting.  My other hobby, miniature wargaming, is getting far too expensive for my liking (try running three games, two made by Games Workshop!).

D&D look really good.  I've heard so much about the game.  But I want to get a few things clear first:

1 - Do I need miniatures and stuff to play the game?  Can I play the game orally? 

Thanks.

EDIT:
6 - What should I buy? 

1. you can play the older editions orally, but i would always advise having some sort of visual aid available. we used to use buttons and graph/hex paper
2. yes
3. never played warhammer, but classic editions are pretty simple
4. you could draw pieces of numbered paper from a hat, but honestly, a set of dice is pretty standard
5. no. they introduced new errors and are just absolutely, absurdly overpriced. id say they are for collectors only. otherwise download a free clone of a d&d ruleset or buy the originals off of ebay or amazon
6. correct me if im worng, but it sounds like you want a simple version of the game that can be played orally if need be. if thats the case, you need:

-buttons or minis (some call this optional)
-graph/hex paper, can be downloaded for free online (some call this optional)
-pencils and paper