Bought premium 1st edition Dungeons Dragons book...CAMPAIGN setting?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello

I started playing D&D after reading the Hobbit in the late 70's. Loved the early edition of the game so when the reprints came up for sale I bought all three. Also, I just found out that many of the older adventures, and other core rule books, will likewise be reprinted!!!!!Cool

Now that my favorite game, from my youth, is in reprint I need a campaign setting for it. Which setting was ment for 1st edition rules and moduals such as the 'S' series ( Dungeons of Dread) and 'A' series ( Against the Slave Lords)?

Thanks guys and thank you WotC for the fantastic work in reprinting the classics!      
Both the S series and A series modules for AD&D were set in the World of Greyhawk.

One of my favorite campaigns for Greyhawk is to start out the characters in the Keep on the Borderlands (not actually Greyhawk), then move on to:

A1-4 (Slavers)
G1-3 (Giants)
D1-3 (Descent, Shrine, Vault)
Q1 (Queen of the Demonweb Pits)

The G, D and Q series all lead into each other so with a little imagination you can string together KoTB and the Slavers and lead into the G series from there.  A little modification to allow for appropriate levelling at the right time will help too.

OD&D, 1E and 2E challenged the player. 3E challenged the character, not the player. Now 4E takes it a step further by challenging a GROUP OF PLAYERS to work together as a TEAM. That's why I love 4E.

"Your ability to summon a horde of celestial superbeings at will is making my ... BMX skills look a bit redundant."

"People treat their lack of imagination as if it's the measure of what's silly. Which is silly." - Noon

"Challenge" is overrated.  "Immersion" is usually just a more pretentious way of saying "having fun playing D&D."

"Falling down is how you grow.  Staying down is how you die.  It's not what happens to you, it's what you do after it happens.”