Starting D&D4E!

34 posts / 0 new
Last post
Alright, I am a complete noob. I've never played a tabletop roleplaying game, but I'm trying to get into the mix. I played out of town with a couple friends, who I rarely get to see....I'm trying to start a group with my friends who also, have never played. What im asking, is what would I need to start (books/dice/etc.), and should i use a premade campaign or should I make up my own.

Any other advice would be appreciated!
THANKS!
Alright, I am a complete noob. I've never played a tabletop roleplaying game, but I'm trying to get into the mix. I played out of town with a couple friends, who I rarely get to see....I'm trying to start a group with my friends who also, have never played. What im asking, is what would I need to start (books/dice/etc.), and should i use a premade campaign or should I make up my own.

THANKS!

I was a 2e player, just started 4e very recently (it's been at least 10 years since I last played).  If you just start with a Player's Handbook, DM Guide and a pre-made adventure, you will probably do okay.  It would be ideal if you could find some people who have played before; that will really help the learning curve.
Major culture shock from what I'm used to, but I like it so far.
As long as you start out with good role-playing and at least some semblance of the rules, you can incorporate more and more until you're running a real game.  At first, just have fun and be fair.  The 'real' rules will come in time.