D&D organized play: heaven or hell?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Having started playing D&D in an organized play (OP) setting, I always assumed that was the norm for the game (I have a competitive MtG background). It wasn't until a year or so after I started playing that I got to know the pleasures of an actual homecampaigns. I kept playing OP adventures, but the more I got used to playing homecampaigns, the more I started to hate OP. 

Mostly, this is because you just don't know who you're sitting down with at a table. Your DM might be unspeakably bad, or one (or more) players unbelievably annoying. Because D&D is a group game that lasts several hours, a bad player/DM more often than not ruined the entire evening for me. It speaks volumes for the quality of the game that I continued playing despite these bad experiences with other players. 

What do you think? Have you ever played in an OP setting? Do you like it, even over home play? 
it has its moments.  

As a DM, it's always nice to see how someone else runs their table, and you can learn almost as much from a bad DM (even if only as a cautionary example of what NOT to do) as a good DM.  For instance, I both vastly improved my own handling of skill challenges from having to endure a full Encounters season with a DM that was absolutely terrible at handling them, and I had a lightswitch moment when a great DM was able to deftly navigate a rules dilemma that had confounded us for a year.

As a player, I find it a great opportunity to try out something I wouldn't in my normal group for any of a variety of reasons and without having to suspend our group's regular campaign to do it.  Anything from a new class or build to a feat/power/etc mechanic combo are all fair game.