First session

I got the latest packet last week, was pretty intrigued by the game so far, and got together a few people from my regular roleplay group and other friends to try it out.

In the interest of providing a helpful spectrum of opinions, I had three players: one with years of experience playing and running a multitude of systems and even building some of his own, one experienced mostly in 3.5 and Pathfinder, and one complete novice. We'll soon be bringing in a veteran of 2nd edition as well. I've played 3.5 for years and jumped to Pathfinder when it came out; I didn't like 4th edition at all, but I'm not here to start an edition war, just to help make a great new edition that hopefully we can all enjoy.

Here's what I really like about 5th edition so far:

• Saving throws: in 3rd edition, with all the save bonuses from your class and feats, your stats hardly even matter after a certain point. On the other hand, in 4th edition you could pick between two skills for each save (or "defense"), meaning you could have three good stats and three abysmal stats and still be adequately defended from everything. Using all of your stats for saving throws is a great idea, I think. It forces you to work with a character that has definite strengths and weaknesses and should make it more difficult to create an overpowered character.