Help a noob alter the Golgari Growth starter deck?

33 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello!

I just started playing Magic about a week ago. My roommate and his buddy were playing when I got home from work, and I decided to watch for a round or two, then I played a few games using their decks. I really enjoyed myself, so I made several trips to the gamestore to pick up some cards to dive in head first. I bought the 200+ deck builder box, the "Mob Rule" deck, the "Fiery Dawn" deck, and the "Golgari Growth" deck. My roommate also gave me some cards from his collection to help me start out.

I've been playing a lot of games with the Golgari Growth, but I keep getting stomped by his green/white populate deck. I have made a few changes to the deck which seemed to help a little, but I cant seem to find the right cards and direction for it. I REALLY like corpsejack menace, and the scavenge mechanic is so thematic and awesome, but I never seem to have enough mana in time to really make use of it before he is swarming me with 5 8/8 guardians and thragtusks everywhere.

I was hoping I could get some advice on how to better my deck. Ill willing to spend some money if a card is essential to the build, but im not dropping $80 bucks on 4 "overgrown tomb" cards. So without furthur ado, I will post what my deck currently is.

I think I want to push the scavenging mechanic to keep the theme of the deck. there are some cards that I really like Sluiceway Scorpion, but it didnt seem that effecient when I could thrown down Deadbridge Goliath. A lot of the cards that came with the deck have really high scavenge costs, and I never seem to have enough mana to get them out there. cards like Korozda Monitor look like they could be pretty strong with a scavenge investment, but I feel like there are better options. I know I definitly want more Slitherhead and Corpsejack Menace.I am completely open to all suggestions and ideas. Thanks!