Help a noob with Char. creation,please

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi, Im new to 4e. I have played D&D and AD&D 2nd about 10-15 years ago. I loved playing and i have picked up a ton of 4e books and went to start a character and all the sudden became very lost. I am trying to create a Dragonborn Blackguard. I made it to the ability scores which i believe i did correctly. Im confused about paragon paths, both class and racial. (do i get to pick only one? Either race or class?) I remember when my DM explained everything to me when i first started to play it was all alot simpler than the books made it out to be. I would just like some one on one type help with this, the books seem to jump around alot and have alot of "fluff". i understand roleplaying is a huge part of d&d but when im trying to understand core gameplay i could really care less about the origins of some evil diety in the middle of a chapter. All my books are e-books and my char. sheets are fillable pdf files. so copies are availible for reference if it helps.(im not handing out full copies of books :P)
I'm assuming that you're starting a new character at level 1, if this is wrong please correct me.  If this is the case you won't have to worry about Paragon Paths, or Epic Destinies until you hit level 11 and level 21 respectively (not that you shouldn't plan ahead a little for them when you get close).  You only get one paragon path, and only one epic destiny.