New player needing some clarification

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
So I'm fairly new to MTG, just started playing about 2 months ago. I understand how its basically played but wanted to clarify 2 things.

First. Shrine of the Burning Rage. The card says at the beginning of upkeep OR when you play a red spell. Does this mean I can only choose to do one or the other per turn? Or can I gain multiple counters on the card per red spell played + upkeep. As in, if I put one counter on during my upkeep does that mean, because the card clearly says OR, that I can then NOT put counters on it if I play red spells in the same turn? None of my friends could clarify that one lol.

Second. I recently played multiplayer and had 2 friends bickering over a ruling and now I'm confused. One friend played an infect deck. He attacked with a 6/6 infect creature. The other friend blocked the creature with a 7/7. The blocking creature was destroyed with an instant. Does the infect now go through to the player? The friend playing infect said yes, because blockers were declared and removed, so the damage (which would have been poison counters) would have gone through. The defending friend said no, because the damage was blocked and then the creature gets destroyed. Can anyone clarify which one is correct for my own sanity?

Thank you for any help!
Shrine of Burning Rage triggers at your upkeep, or when you cast a red spell
but it triggers every time that condition is met, you don't have to (and can't) choose

if the 6/6 doesn't have trample no damage will go through, because it is still blocked
removing blocking creatures does not unblock the attacker
proud member of the 2011 community team
Okay thank you.

But then in the case of Devine Verdict, for example, if you do not declare blockers, but use DV on the attacking creature. Does the damage still go through then? Or does the instant resolve before the damage is dealt as the attackers are announced?