Forest concept art.

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello everyone,

I am an aspiring concept artist/illustrator from Montreal and a long time M:TG player.
This is my interpretation of the Forest from the Magic Universe.

Tell me what you think.

Not bad. I think you may want to heighten the contrast just a bit, as at card size the soft, desaturated color changes you've got there might not pop quite as much as they should, if that makes sense.

What plane is this for? Or is it just meant to be just sort of a genericky fantasy forest? 
Coming Soon to the Magic: Expanded Multiverse: FRAGMENTS: A Shards of Alara Anthology
(Click through to view the cover and announcement page)Want to get your work in the Expanded Multiverse? Come join the project! Oh, and check out my blog, Storming the Ivory Tower: making sense of academia, media, and culture twice weekly.
Mirrodin?

I like it too, reminds me of how lands used to look. Not an art expert like Keeper though.

139359831 wrote:
That is a lovely painting of Richard Garfield. It really brings out his feminine side.
Nah, it doesn't have the metallic bark and dense foliage of the Tanglewood. If anything it looks more like Wirewood on Otaria.
Coming Soon to the Magic: Expanded Multiverse: FRAGMENTS: A Shards of Alara Anthology
(Click through to view the cover and announcement page)Want to get your work in the Expanded Multiverse? Come join the project! Oh, and check out my blog, Storming the Ivory Tower: making sense of academia, media, and culture twice weekly.
Nah, it doesn't have the metallic bark and dense foliage of the Tanglewood. If anything it looks more like Wirewood on Otaria.

Well, yeah. I know nothing about Otaria - but I was merely commenting on the set symbol.

139359831 wrote:
That is a lovely painting of Richard Garfield. It really brings out his feminine side.

I tend to disagree. I think it has more of a Skyshroud or Llanowar feel to it, but that might just be me purposefully rejecting anything from Otaria.