What's the maximum viable converted mana cost?

19 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm new to magic so I'm looking for some deck building parameters. I wonder at what point are cards generally just to expensive to cast. I found this article interesting, though it's from 2009 so maybe things have changed. Of course it depends on the deck you're running, some quick decks might not have anything over 3 converted cost, some combo decks may manage to play very expensive cards. In my very limited experience as a casual player, 5 mana cost seems viable, 6 risky, 7 barely playable and anything over that not viable. What might be a good rule of thumb for a starting player?
Well, it depends on the speed of the format too. However, I think that generally:
Aggro can manage to play a few 4 drops, if they have enough of an impact, but will often neglect to do so.
Fish decks are probably even more reluctant to play 4+ more, as it requires a lot of mana to hold open if you want to protect it with countermagic.
Midrange usually have a lot of solid stuff around the 3-4 range that they can accelerate into early, but will also play a few backbreaking 5-7 cost cards.
Control can afford a few really expensive cards, upwards of 8, used to quickly end a game that your opponent can't push through anymore.
Combo does whatever it wants to.
I suppose Ramp also tops out with a few things in the 6-8 range, a bit more than Control as they want to land a lot of them to force your opponent to answer it, as opposed to landing a big threat and making your opponent unable to answer it.

However, I haven't played in a long while, so take it with a grain of salt.
With the assumption of a speed equal to that of current standard formats. Casual decks are rarely going to be better than that, although obviously depends on playgroup.

Yxoque wrote:
This forum can't even ****ing self-destruct properly.

IMAGE(http://img.pokemondb.net/sprites/black-white/anim/normal/plusle.gif)