iRemedy's First Day on MTGO [Journal]

25 posts / 0 new
Last post
Introduction
Well, firstly, I am new to MTG in general. When I was younger (I am now 23) I got a few cards (a starter deck and a few boosters) but never had anyone to play with or anywhere to go to play. Then whenever the downloadable digital tutorial came out, I downloaded that and played it a couple times and dug up my cards with plans to find a hobby shop to play at but never did. That's all the experience I had until two weeks ago when Duels 2013 and the expansion went on sale on Steam and immediately picked them up. I logged in over 50 hours in about a week. Finished nearly everything in the game. Then I remembered there was an online game and wondered if it were still popular since it's pretty old by now. Saw that it was still around and did some searching around the internet and found a lot of community sites/article sites and then found some twitch channels and such. Downloaded the client to play the trial version but didnt like any of those decks really, especially since they were the same that I was forced to play in Duels 2013 for the most part. Bought an account today after a few days of reading a lot of articles and watching a good number of videos. Now, at 2:18AM I decided to write this up since I enjoyed reading similar posts that I found yesterday.

TL;DR - I had 0 MTG experience until two weeks ago. Bought an MTGO account today.

Original Plan
Basically from all the articles I read I came to the conclusion that I should:
 - Sell the booster pack that comes with the account to a bot for tix
 - Track down the freebots and be very picky with my selections
 - Buy bulk commons while continuing to be picky

I also planned to play mostly Pauper. From the videos I watched it was simply more interesting to me. And the fact that its so much cheaper is also a plus

What Actually Happened