Houserules - Powering Down PCs

22 posts / 0 new
Last post
As a bit of background, my heart lies with 2nd edition, never played 3rd and only this year came back to the hobby and I've been DMing 4th for 6 months now.  I'm not interested in a debate about the merits of 4th edition over previous or vice-versa.  In my opinion 4E PCs are overpowered.
I'm playing the current season of Encounters and I find that I really like limiting players to using Encounter powers once a day as opposed to short rest, reload and go at it again.  While I've run plenty of sessions where I use this feature as well I'm wondering if anyone here as implemented a house rule like that over the course of a campaign.  How did it work out for the players?  What kinds of issues did it create for them?
I'm searching for a way to implement a rule like this but I'd like some feedback from anyone who is currently doing so first.
I'm searching for a way to implement a rule like this but I'd like some feedback from anyone who is currently doing so first.

In games in which players voluntarily don't use encounter powers, fights to the death take longer to complete. But, if the DM is in on it, I don't see why the standard encounters couldn't be adjusted. Fights to the death are a troublesome issue anyway.

[N]o difference is less easily overcome than the difference of opinion about semi-abstract questions. - L. Tolstoy

I don't have a problem with Encounter powers per se. I think I would rather they were all Dailys and have a few more At-Wills instead. Short Rests make things too easy in my opinion.
It's a product of your encounter design.