What Will Happen to 4E

69 posts / 0 new
Last post
Let me preface by saying I'm fairly new to the D&D experience having never played before 4E. I purchased the PHB1, Monster Manual and  DMG not knowing if I would ever be able to use them. My gaming group is made up entirely of people new to D&D (you're welcome WOTC). 

Now that I know everyone is enjoying it and we will likely continue, I've been checking out some of the published campaigns, additional monster manuals, dugeon tiles and even adventurers vault books to add to my collection of resources. It seems like these are hard to find. Most book stores I have been to do not carry a great deal of D&D material. My question is, are 4E books and materials becoming more scarce as everyone moves to the new edition? Are things like the Adventurer's vault going to be even harder to find in future?

Short answer is yes, older editions books will become harder to find as stores begin stocking up on D&D Next's manuals. If I may suggest, use online stores: Amazon has everything you may need.
Books will be really easy to find at first, as those who are willing to dump their old stuff for new do so; then it will get gradually harder.

In my home, we will play 4e for the foreseeable future. And if Next manages to produce a finished product that is radically different from my early playtest experiences, then I will give it a try as well.
Here are the PHB essentia, in my opinion:
  • Three Basic Rules (p 11)
  • Power Types and Usage (p 54)
  • Skills (p178-179)
  • Feats (p 192)
  • Rest and Recovery (p 263)
  • All of Chapter 9 [Combat] (p 264-295)
A player needs to read the sections for building his or her character -- race, class, powers, feats, equipment, etc. But those are PC-specific. The above list is for everyone, regardless of the race or class or build or concept they are playing.