First time DM, looking for help

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello all,

I'm somewhat new to DnD but I've always had an interest. I've been playing Magic for years, and recently had a friend invite me to his campaign. It's been a fun few weeks, unfortunately that DM is unavailable for quite some time and I'm the only one that has a hankering to jump in and give it a try.

I was hoping to spout some ideas, and possibly get some imput from veteran players on how to weave it all together and provide something at least moderately entertaining from the group.

For the story, one of my favorite series growing up was  the Incarnations of Immortality. For those unaware, the simple version is, each book describes the transition of a character into becoming one of the Incarnations (Death, Time, Fate, War, Nature, Evil, Good). I was interested in very loosely basing a world of this kind of thing. My translation involved a pretty basic world in which there was a center main hub/big city. As you ventured out in any one of five pentagonal directions, far enough in the distance there would be a base/temple of one of the first five elements. Each zone would be themed by the incarnation it represented. The first major part of the campaign would be making it to each temple, dungeons and puzzles galore along the way. Once at the temple, they'd make they're way through it, with puzzles/tests corresponding to the zone and either kill, or earn the favor of the incarnation, collecting some macguffin representing such a feat. Once they acquired all 5 macguffins they would be able to perform some sort of ritual (not sure quite what to do with this) and it would enable them to travel to heaven/hell.