Is it worth buying mtg: duels of plainswalkers?

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
I've been thinking about buying this game for a while now and since it's on 50% discount for 24 hours I just wanted to know how you guys feel about it? Obviously I know that you'll say "yes," since it's the forums of this game, so lemme ask more specifically.

I played mtg in the past (12 years ago?), but I don't know the current meta etc. How fast can I learn how to play and keep at least 50% winnin rate? Where can I read more about current decks, cards, play styles?

Also, any additional comments would be more than welcome.

Cheers. 
It's super easy to get back into it; you should absolutuely buy it, it's one of the best gaming values there is.

I started playing right before Ice Age came out and stopped on the second set after Ice Age.  It took a little time to get back into it for me, and almost every card in DOTP is new to me, and there are a few new mechanics I wasn't familiar with or had forgotten about in DOTP 2012, but it doesn't take much time to learn it.  I read a bunch about individual cards at gatherer.wizards.com but it's not really necessary to do it for DOTP.

You should also read some of the deck guides at toptiertactics.com, or watch their videos, or read through some of the deck building lists on this forum for ideas.
Definitely worth buying if you have any interest in MTG.  You don't need to know the current meta in paper magic, DOTP has its own meta.  You will learn the playstyles of the DOTP decks simply by playing them, and you can read about DOTP specific strategieis here on these forums