The only thing that isn't fun about magic

36 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi there,
My name's Mark, I'm pretty new to magic (started playing during Innistrad).  Love the game and have been having a lot of fun at Friday night magic and with MTGO.  There is one thing about the game that isn't fun though and as many magic players I've seen like to do, I wanted to express it to the world after a not-so-fun loss.  I do this in good humour (and hopefully I did the math right).  I think I'm going to go buy a lottery ticket later.

The correct formula for finding the probability of drawing a certain card over a certain number of turns is actually:

H(n)=C(x, n)*C(y-x, z-n)/C(y, z)

Where X is the number of copies of the card you want,

Y is the total number of cards in the deck,

Z is the number of cards you are drawing,

and N is the number you are checking for (i.e. "What are the odds of drawing exactly one land?"). 

The function C(x, y) is a combination factorial. It means C(x, y)=x!(y!*(x-y)!).

Plugging in the numbers you wrote in your notepad show that you have a 42% of drawing at least one land within the next three turns. 
Etiamnunc sto, etiamsi caelum ruat.
The correct formula for finding the probability of drawing a certain card over a certain number of turns is actually:

and N is the number you are checking for (i.e. "What are the odds of drawing exactly one land?"). 

The function C(x, y) is a combination factorial. It means C(x, y)=x!(y!*(x-y)!).

Plugging in the numbers you wrote in your notepad show that you have a 42% of drawing at least one land within the next three turns. 

Thanks for the cool prediction formula!  I was just trying to show how unlucky it was by showing that drawing that many non lands in a row had a 0.1% chance of happening.  In other words on average getting that bad of draws should only happen once every 1000 games.  Now that's luck for ya!
I just used the simple Prob(A and B) = Prob(A)*Prob(B)