Ultimate Fail

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello, let me start off by saying I have some experience with D&D from computer games like Baldur's Gate II and Neverwinter Nights, but I have never played it pen and paper. So I was wondering, what do you do as the DM if the party gets completely wiped out in some epic battle? Let's say you're 6 hours into the campaign and they're fighting the last boss, who rolls a 20 on some massive AoE attack and all the PCs roll a 1 so they all die. Game over and the evil guy takes over the world? That probably wouldn't go over very well. Normally this would be the point where you hit the reload button in a computer game, but I was wondering how DMs would handle something like that on pen and paper.
Their ghosts come back to do what they failed to do while alive.

The evil guy revives them to make them watch him destroy the world.

The world goes on, but with a new ruler, who has to fight the rest of the powers in the world, players make new characters in this world.

The stories don't end, they just get a new twist.
Game over and the evil guy takes over the world? That probably wouldn't go over very well.

That would be pretty awesome. The players then make new characters in this world that has gone bad despite the good guys' best efforts. Plenty of adventure stories begin after the bad things have already happened. In Star Wars, the Empire has already taken over almost completely, and it's up to the good guys to fight back.

There's even a roleplaying setting called Nightfall, I think, that is basically Middle-Earth after Sauron won.

Normally this would be the point where you hit the reload button in a computer game, but I was wondering how DMs would handle something like that on pen and paper.

I'd handle it as stated above, or would otherwise avoid making the stakes something that wouldn't be interesting for the players to see lost. Don't point a gun at anything you're not prepared to see destroyed.