Need Help With a Deity

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
I am new to D&D and am in the process of trying to create my first character. I have gotten everything figured out, but I am running into a little bump in the road. In the back story of my character he was a Cleric in training for a deity. Said deity demanded extreme devotion from his/her followers, to such an extent that they sent their current Clerics to kill a group of ex-clerics that were now worshipping a different set of deities. After their Clerics accomplished said goal they burnt down an entire library worth of books, saying it was all blasphemy against their god. While there are various deities which would do this, the problem I am having is it has to be one which commonfolk (Non-savage Humans) wouldn't look down on someone for openly worshipping.

We are playing with 3.5 rules, however my DM doesn't seem to care about whether deities come from any set of rules before or after 3.5. I know I could just make up a random deity, but I am doing my best to run off of a canon one.

Anyone who could help me out would be greatly appreciated. 
I'm not too familiar with various D&D deities, but Vecna pops to mind.  Vecna is the evil god of secrets, knowledge, and magic.  And, in 4e at least, Vecna is at deadly odds with Ioun, the unaligned god of magic and knowledge.  While Vecna would seek to control and hide knowledge, Ioun and her followerers seek to spread knowledge and truth.

Though, really, any organization that is discovered to have knowledge that Vecna would wish to remained secret would be considered "heretical".  For Vecna has many enemies and few friends.

However, Vecna is definately not a deity to be worshipped openly.  Though I really can't think of many that would also support slaughtering and library burning, which both have a debately evil bent.  Though "evilness" would depend on the circumstances as well.