Fireball Clarification

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
I am pretty new to the D&D Board Game scene, and wanted to get some clarification on Fireball, Line of Sight, Line of Effect, and Obstacles.

Key:
Creature One = 1
Creature Two = 2
Obstacle = o
Square = _
Wall = |
Fireball Location = *

|_ _ _ |
|_ 1 _ |
|o o o |
|_ * _  |
|_ _ _ |
|_ 2 _ |

Example 1:  Creature 2 casts fireball.  Does the fireball go through the obstacle and hit Creature 1?  It was argued that it would not go through the obstacle, and even if it did, it could be dodged because it's a ranged attack.  I disagree with both statements because obstacles block line of sight, not line of effect.  I am under the impression that you just need LoS on the square you are targetting, and then the fireball follows LoE rules.  I also wouldn't consider it a "dodgeable" ranged attack, but perhaps I am wrong on this. 

|_ _ _ |
|_ 1 _ |
|o * o  |
|_ _ _ |
|_ _ _ |
|_ 2 _ | 

Example 2:  Creature 2 casts fireball ON the obstacle.  It was argued that you can't see the whole obstacle square, so you don't have full line of sight on it.  Can you cast fireball on an obstacle, and if so, would it hit Creature 1?

Thanks!

erdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size:12px; margin:8px">No posts yet, so I'll kick off with some help.

Fireball is not a ranged attack.  It does not have the bow in a circle symbol, often shortened to (R).  Other order cards with a range but are not ranged attacks include faerie fire and web.

As it is not a ranged attack, fireball cannot be dodged.  It can be cowered, though.

Now to the two questions with diagrams.  The second scenario is fine to me, casting onto the obstacle space to affect a creature beyond.  Though creature 2 is outside the area of effect in the second diagram that you have drawn (three squares away).