Caves of Chaos on... what's the opposite of steroids?

I'm going to run a playtest in a couple weeks. I don't know what adventure the new packet will have, but I'm set on Cave of Chaos because of the weird story possibilities with all those humanoid groups being in close proximity.

Problem is, I may have as few as two players, one a complete newbie and one who hasn't played since I think 1e. So I don't want to give them more than one character.

Obviously one solution is to have some decent NPCs, but I'm looking for more creative solutions that might make the game more interesting. Like, maybe just giving them some powerful magic items. Any other ideas? 

D&D Home Page - What Monster Are You? - D&D Compendium

Hrm...might be hard. I played a game with just me and a friend as the only PCs (the other 3 were captured for previous games' shinanigans). We encountered 2 Orcs right off that I killed with one attack each...however one orc stayed up for an extra round and downed my cleric ally. As a rogue I was hard pressed to do anything at all. I got lucky with some sneaking and got to a secret room with that gem barrel (never figured out what was in it, guessing bugs or something but didn't wana risk it being alone and all).

Never hit a patrol alone so I got in and out an returned to the first orc encounter (a patrol had chased me off as I was reviving my ally, he got captured). We ended the session freeing the 3 other PCs, so that's where we will start off (they are all naked with no gear and I am the only one fully equipped).

Just two players is kinda touch when one roll can lay you low; granted we didn't heal like we should have..but an 8 damage longsword strike against 11 HP would still have forced us to flee for a while to heal.
As Bitharne said, it's a tough nut if you aren't willing to alter the encounters, allow additional characters, or use henchmen (NPCs).