Magic Weapons Questions (noob here)

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello there,

I recently got into DnD and I have a few questions when it comes to magical weapons. Most of them say things like if they critical they do 1d6 damage for example, but what is the normal damage roll? For example, Talmaril the Heartseeker is the high level magic bow from Cattie-Brie (Legend Of Drizzt) and it says it does 1d6 plus 5, which means 5 1d6 rolls if I crit, but what is the actual damage roll? Is it a standard longbow damage? (1d10)?

And on another note, does damage scale on weapons as you level up?

Thanks! 
It'd help if you specified which D&D you're playing.  There are quite a few, and they all have different rules.
D&D Next = D&D: Quantum Edition
Sorry, I meant to and forgot. I'm playing 4.0
Bump cause I really want to know D:
Howdy folks,

I have moved this thread to D&D 4E Rules Q&A where it is more on-topic. 

Thanks.

All around helpful simian

I am having a hard time reading your question so Ill just say everything:

On a crit you do max damage from the power and all other damage bonuses on the attack, then you roll your crit dice. The crit dice are usually 1d6 per plus, so you do max damage then add 1d6 per plus.
Show
58033128 wrote: